Luxury Holidays, Accommodation and Experiences

New Zealand Regions

The variety of the New Zealand landscape takes even the most seasoned tourist's breath away. New Zealand's North and South Islands are very different. The North Island is more populous and includes the two major cities in the country, Auckland with over 1.5 million and the country's capital, Wellington, which is much smaller at not even half a million. The centre of the North Island is dominated by the dramatic volcanic region which includes the active volcanoes of Ruapehu and Tongariro and the immense and beautiful crater Lake Taupo. The North Island is also where you are more likely to find wonderful Maori culture, history and experiences. New Zealand's South Island is dominated by the Southern Alps, vast National Parks, beautiful glacially carved lakes and stunning coastlines. There is a lot to see; from the beaches and forested bays of Nelson and Marlborough to the grand west coast glaciers, blue Southern Lakes, magnificent Fiordland, the fabulous sea life of Kaikoura, the Otago Peninsula and less visited Catlins and Stewart Island, as well as the historic interest of towns like Dunedin and Oamaru. Choose carefully how much you want to try to see and do. Allow for 2-3 nights in destinations rather than constantly moving on and spending your vacation in the car! Don't underestimate driving distances in planning your New Zealand holiday. It is often worthwhile making good use of internal flights to allow you more time in each of your destinations of choice. Everything is good, but don't try to do everything! See our interactive map to plan your holiday in more detail and make use of our Journeys page for inspiration and guidance as to the best New Zealand itineraries.

The far north of the country is more temperate, but three of the main sunshine areas in the country are Hawkes Bay, Nelson and Central Otago/Southern Lakes. 

North Island of New Zealand

Bay of Islands
Auckland and Waiheke Island
Volcanic Plateau
Hawkes Bay
Wellington & Kapiti Coast

South Island of New Zealand

Nelson and Marlborough
The West Coast
Canterbury and the Kaikoura Coast
Queenstown and Wanaka
Stewart Island and The Catlins